The Fair Housing Act

    Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 is commonly known as the Fair Housing Act.  The Act prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and handicap (disability). These seven groups are known as "protected classes."

    West Virginia has a substantially-equivalent Fair Housing Act that includes two additional protected classes - ancestry and blindness.  The West Virginia Human Rights Commission investigates complaints of discrimination in housing through authority granted under the WV Fair Housing Act, as amended, involving race, sex, disability, religion, color, ancestry, national origin, blindness, and familial status.

West Virginia Fair Housing Action Network (FHAN)
(304) 296-6091     844-212-3464 (toll free)
West Virginia Fair Housing Action Network (FHAN) 
Making Housing Choice a Reality 
(304) 296-6091 
844-212-3464 (toll free)